Picture
This week we started to read a book called The Green Book by Jill Paton Walsh. Three kids (Joe, Sarah and Pattie) leave Earth in a space ship with their Dad, just before a natural disaster destroys Earth. Each person on the ship is allowed to bring just one book and one luxury item. It is a four-year voyage, and the passengers spend it mostly sleeping and reading. After a few weeks, people start trading books. Everyone makes fun of Pattie, the youngest child, when they find out she brought an empty book (a diary).
What book would you bring on the voyage and why? Please post your response in our class blog.

Mrs. Pollard's Third Grade Class
4/26/2010 02:33:40 am

We are a third grade class at Little Mountain Elementary School in South Carolina. We started reading The Green Book about 2 weeks ago. We only get to read it 3 days a week,and we have completed chapter 3. We love it. We are reading this book as a culminating activity to our study of The Solar System. We are a small Gifted and Talented class,there are only 7 of us in the class. We would like to answer your blog. Please respond, we will check back tomorrow.
Lylah: I would bring a diary too, beacuse I wouldn't get tired of reading it, I can keep writing down each days activities and happenings.
Ashlyn: I bring Diary of a Wimpy Kid. I think this book is really funny,and it is long.
Hayleigh: I would bring a diary too,because you can write in the entire book, then go back and read what you wrote.
Drew: I would bring the longest Harry Potter Book,because it would take me a long time to read it.
Jarrett: I would bring a diary so I could draw pictures in it too.
Chandler: I would bring a scrapbook photo album.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Where are you in the book, and what books would you all bring? and Why?

Reply
Mrs. McKelvey
4/27/2010 07:12:43 am

WOW! We can't wait to hear what you have to say. Look for additional prompts on the blog.

From,
Mrs. McKelvey

Reply
Lauren
4/27/2010 07:33:49 am

The book I would bring is Animal Ark Dog Days Collection by Ben M. Baglio. I would bring that because I love Animal Ark stories, I like Ben M. Baglio's style of writing, and it is 440 pages long.

Reply
4/27/2010 07:42:23 am

I would bring the bible because it would give me good hope for living on planet shine.

Reply
Mrs. McKelvey
4/27/2010 10:38:43 am

I would bring my favorite book, Poppy by Avi. I love the way that Avi describes things in this book. He includes lots of interesting details that help me "see" what's going on. I also love the main character, Poppy because she never gives up. I can learn a lot from her.

Reply
Gavin S.
4/27/2010 12:20:45 pm

I would bring THE LIGHTENING THIEF on trip to planet shine because it's a book you can read over and over again with out getting bord.

Reply
4/27/2010 01:42:28 pm

I would bring a book that contains all of the excellent and well detailed Harry Potter books. It would be really great to read and I can keep eading the whole series for a long time.The book would have the following Harry Potter books,Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.I don't think they would allow the book on board though because it would be to bulky and heavy.

Reply
Jarrett
4/29/2010 02:41:20 am

Wat did you all think about the part about the moth people? I liked that part a lot!

Reply
Ashlyn
4/29/2010 02:41:59 am

What did you think of the candy trees?Would you like to eat them?I definately would eat them!I bet they would taste so good.Do you?

Reply
chandler
4/29/2010 02:42:48 am

I think that the aliens or the moth people are kind of cool, what do you think?Then I think the candy trees probably are beautiful are they?

Reply
drew
4/29/2010 02:43:32 am

Do the moth people help or attack the people? What personal items would you bring?Do they eat the moth people?

Reply
Shanna
4/29/2010 02:46:11 am

Dear Mrs.Mckelveys third grade class,
I thought that the part where all the kids on Shine found out the candy trees had sweet sap, that tasted like sweet sugar, I wish that I would could have some of that sap.That would be so cool. I also like the part that when all the bolders in Bolders Vally and all the moth people come from out of them.

Reply
Lylah
4/29/2010 02:51:51 am

Dear Mrs.Mcklevys third grade class,
I thought that the part where all of the kids on planet Shine found the candy trees that has the sweet sap that tasted like sugar,I wish that I would have been there to see it I bet that it would have been so cool. Another one of my favorite parts of the book was when the boulders started moving and cracking and giant moths came out,"I bet it was so freaky.'' What is your favorite part of the book?

Reply
Hayleigh
4/30/2010 02:35:11 am

I love the candy trees,did you? It made me think of a bunch of good candy!

Reply
Lauren
5/10/2010 10:08:46 am

The candy trees were my favorite part! I also enjoyed when the moth people come and have fun with the people from Earth.

Reply
hayleigh
5/21/2010 07:29:11 am

the moth people were very cool but i liked the candy trees the best! I would love if we had candy trees on earth. we would get to eat them for breakfast and dinner sence were at home

Reply
Mrs. Mckelvey
5/21/2010 10:38:33 am

I've really enjoyed reading your paragraphs about what you would called the planet. I'll be posting some of your ideas to the blog as soon as I get a chance.

Mrs. Mckelvey

Reply
shanna and hayleigh
5/31/2010 05:24:28 am

we have enjoyed talking to your class. about the greenbook.

Reply
Colin
6/1/2010 07:20:50 am

What do I think the new settlement should be called? I think the new settlement should be called The Green Town. Dad said,” We must be good citizens.” On Earth being green meant picking up trash, throwing away trash, recycling, and stopping pollution. I think the dad was saying that they should take care of the new planet. There space ship is broken and they can’t get anywhere else. All they have are the pills and so if they don’t take care of the planet they will have to take the pills. The pills will kill you. So that’s why I think Shine should be called The Green Town. But that’s only possible if they keep the planet clean.

Reply
6/10/2010 06:25:04 am


Planet Galaxy

I think we should call the new place Planet Galaxy. In the Green Book the people are from Earth and they come to an extraordinary new planet. I think we should call it Planet Galaxy because everything there is entirely different from the way our planet and galaxy works. Back at Earth their sun is dying. Everything in this new world, from glassy, to unfortunate, from sweet, to rain is all from that place. The trees are too hard to cut down and you have to burn down part of the tree which then you are able to cut it. Also it rains every night and there are no clouds. It’s full of weird and different things. That is why I would call the new planet, planet Galaxy.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.