About six weeks ago a student returned from the garden with what looked like a huge, rather plump zucchini...at least that's what he thought it was. When we took a closer look we decided it wasn't a zucchini but a pumpkin that hadn't turned orange yet.
Now I knew that green tomatoes turned red when I put them in a sunny window, and so I wondered...will our pumpkin turn orange if we put in a sunny window. We thought it was worth a try. So it sat and sat in our sunny window next to our library books. And we almost forgot about it when we came back from Winter Break. Lucky for us we didn't.  Over the past two weeks it slowly turned orange and so we decided it was time to make something yummy with our pumpkin.
Today the students made pumpkin bread and chocolate pumpkin squares. We followed two recipes, carefully measuring and mixing. Both of our treats turned out delicious! Although I'm partial to the chocolate in the pumpkin squares.
Now I can't wait until our next baking adventure.
Alex
2/1/2011 02:28:17 am

The pumpkin bread was really delicious! I liked watching the pumpkin change color.

Reply
Richard
2/1/2011 05:02:20 pm

My mom is Relly happy.

Reply
Emre
2/5/2011 02:49:33 am

Can I have more tomorrow?

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.